Lake district Unesco World Heritage Site

Thorney How

The Lake District became a World Heritage Site announced on 10th July 2017. Joining iconic locations such as the Taj Mahal, the Great Barrier Reef and Grand Canyon as a place of international acclaim.

This is great news for the UK adding another World Heritage Site will be a great draw for international visitors benefiting all regions in the UK.  Watch the video here.

The Lake District’s bid for World Heritage status was put together by the 25 partners that make up the Lake District National Park Partnership. Inscription is in the ‘Cultural Landscapes’ category. This reflects the three themes that underpin the bid:

Identity: The acknowledged beauty of the Lake District is the result of thousands of years of industry and agricultural development of the spectacular natural landscape of mountains, valleys, lakes and woodland. It is a cultural landscape of international significance.

Inspiration: The beauty of the Lake District inspired artists and writers of the Picturesque and Romantic movements and generated ideas about landscape that have had global influence.

Conservation: The Lake District has been enjoyed and valued by visitors for 250 years. Concern to protect it was the inspiration for the birth of the conservation movement, including the National Trust and protected areas including UK National Parks.

The Lake District World Heritage Site is:

One of just over 1000 World Heritage sites (1,052)
The UK’s largest World Heritage site: 229,200 ha (1951 boundary)
The UK’s 31st UNESCO World Heritage site
The only UK National Park that will be entirely a World Heritage site
The UK’s 5th cultural landscape World Heritage Site.
Cumbria’s second World Heritage Site together with Hadrian’s Wall
One of eight World Heritage Sites looked after by the National Trust
One of 15 National Parks. The others are: Brecon Beacons, the Cairngorms, Dartmoor, Exmoor, Loch Lomond and Trossachs, Northumberland, North York Moors, Peak District, Pembrokeshire Coast, Snowdonia, the Yorkshire Dales, the Broads, the New Forest and the South Downs.