Edmundbyers was opened in 1933 by the Youth Hostel Association. Apart from closure during the war years, it has been in constant use ever since. In 2014 it went into private hands but continued as a hostel operating under the Enterprise scheme. In 2016 it joined our Independent Hostel network, while still operating as an enterprise hostel. Originally an early 17th century inn, the heavily beamed, stone flagged. rugged stone building still has a section operating as a small, unique and quirky little pub with a cobblestone floor. Affectionately called ‘The Baa’ this is a great hit with today’s thirsty hostel guests.
Find out more about Edmundbyers YHA at Low House Haven